Save Fashion

Ultra Wedge by Melissa Campana Brazil

Ultra Wedge by Melissa Campana Brazil

Tonight, on my way home from work, passing through Port Authority to transfer from the bus to the subway, a sample sale caught my eye…  It turned out to be a special event going on: Save Fashion!!! Well, I couldn’t resist since I had been hunting for some summer shoes…  I found 3 things I wish I could’ve bought.  The first thing was this beautiful pair of shoes, the Ultra Wedge Flocked by Melissa Campana. They only had size 8 and 10. BOOHOO!… The second piece was a black wool zip jacket by Philippa K. It had a very mod 1960’s look, subtle bubble shape with slightly ruffled collar, a la Audrey Hepburn. The funny thing was that I noticed it ONCE before. It was this past winter, a woman near me on the subway was wearing it and I was thinking how cute it looked with jeans… The last piece that I wish I could’ve grabbed was a space-age Lyn Devon Motorblanket Jacket. Hip length quilted ivory-colored virgin wool and angora with wide rounded lapels and a short diagonal zipper down the front, not to mention some golden zippers around the elbow joints. I know it sounds crazy, but my written description doesn’t do it justice.  It was so beautiful and SO SOFT! But it was wayyyy too big.  It would’ve been a great dressy winter coat as an alternative to my dumpy knee-length down jackets…

I wish I could say it was strictly a “sport shopping” experience, you know, “catch and release.”  But I DID break down and get a pair of deep purple Melissa flats. Only $40! Comfy, durable, stylish, and WATERPROOF!

Leave a comment